District Curriculum and Pacing


The Hammonton Public School District curriculum is closely aligned to the New Jersey Student Learning Standards (NJSLS). The standards describe what students should know and be able to do upon completion of a thirteen-year public education, providing clear and specific benchmarks for student achievement in nine content areas. Standards for Mathematics and Language Arts Literacy are based on the Common Core State Standards, adopted by the New Jersey Board of Education in 2010 and revised in 2016. The standards are also designed to help teachers prepare students to be college and career ready.

Content area original adoption dates are listed below. Because curriculum is a living document, revisions and updates are completed and posted yearly.

  • English Language Arts (Sept. 2017)

  • Mathematics (Sept. 2017)

  • Science

    • Grades 6 – 12 (Sept. 2016)

    • Grades K – 5   (Sept. 2017)

  • Social Studies (Sept. 2015)

  • World Languages (Sept. 2015)

  • Technology (Sept. 2015)

  • 21st Century Life and Careers (Sept. 2015)

  • Visual and Performing Arts (Sept. 2015)

  • Comprehensive Health and Physical Education (Sept. 2015)

The Hammonton Public School District curriculum is organized into units of study based upon the Understanding by Design (UbD) model of instructional design. UbD transforms Content Standards into focused learning targets based on “big ideas” and transfer tasks. Interdisciplinary connections are emphasized in Stage I as essential questions and enduring understandings. Technology and 21st Century Life and Career Standards are integrated as learning targets in all grade levels and subject areas. Core instructional materials and supportive materials used to help students acquire required knowledge and skills are identified. Content specific accommodations and modifications for special education, ELL, 504, Gifted and Talented, and Students at Risk are included within the units and also in Appendix A. 

Curriculum and Pacing Charts 

Additional Resources